Allie Cardiel

Mazomanie, WI

Carleton College


What is your minor?

Minors are not offered at my school, but I will be earning a Certificate of Advanced Study in Spanish.

What are your research interest(s)?

Chemistry of materials for renewable energy, environmental research via materials and nanochemistry

What are your interests outside of school?  What do you like to do for FUN?

Photography, spending time outside, reading, watching movies, knitting

How did you hear about the ACCESS program? Why did you apply?

My academic advisor told me about the ACCESS program. After reading about it, it seemed like a lot of fun, and I liked the goals of the program.

What were some interesting/fun things you did at ACCESS and/or people you met?

The session with people from different professional chemistry paths helped me realize all the different options that a person with a Chemistry Ph.D. has.

What was your favorite part of the weekend and why?

Overall, I liked all the sessions that helped me learn what graduate school is like at a rigorous school. I also had a lot of fun on the tours around the city.

What benefits did you reap from the program?

I learned first-hand what the admissions board is looking for in the admissions panel session. I also got an inside look at how graduate school works and what a day in graduate school might be like.

Prior to attending ACCESS, did you have plans to apply for Graduate School? How did ACCESS impact your decision?

I was thinking about graduate school as a possibility before the ACCESS program, but I wasn’t sold yet. ACCESS showed me that there are a lot of career options available to someone with a Ph.D. and that graduate school can be fun, too.

Are you planning on applying to/attending Graduate School now?  If so where?

I am planning to attend graduate school now. I am thinking of applying to UW-Madison, and I am still searching for additional schools that I should apply to.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?  10 years?

In 5 years I will hopefully be about a year away from earning my Ph.D., and in 10 years I hope to have a career related to renewable energy.